Stefan Petri
By Stefan Petri Last updated on Shown in: Adobe Photoshop CS5
3D electrical diagram created with few filters

The video is only loaded from YouTube when you play it – data (including your IP address) is then transmitted to YouTube/Google. More in the privacy policy

A 3D electrical diagram is an exciting way to give technical designs depth and dynamics. With Photoshop, you can quickly and easily create this look by cleverly combining lines, shapes, and just a few filters. This effect is perfect for posters, technical illustrations, or creative projects with a futuristic touch. In this tutorial, I'll show you step by step how to create a 3D electrical diagram that convinces with precision and a three-dimensional effect. Let's get started and add tension to your designs!

Step 1:

To create the effect, I will first create a new document. The size is of minor importance. I choose 800x800 pixels.

3D electrical diagram created with a few filters

Step 2:

Now I click F9 to create a new action. I name it "electrical diagram." Every step I take will now be recorded.

Step 2 – image 2

Step 3:

Next, I click on the icon to activate the default colors or simply press D. Then in the Filter menu, I go to Render>Clouds.

Step 3 – image 3

Step 4:

After that, under Menu>Filter>Blur>Motion Blur, I set the following values:

Step 4 – image 4

Step 5:

Then I go to Menu>Filter>Stylize>Find Edges.

Step 5 – image 5

Step 6:

Now I duplicate the background layer (Ctrl+J), transform the new layer with Ctrl+T, and then right-click>Rotate 90° CW.

Step 6 – image 6

Step 7:

Next, I change the fill method to Darken.

Step 7 – image 7

Step 8:

With Ctrl+E, I merge the layer with the background layer, then go to the Filter menu under Stylize>Glowing Edges and set the following values:

Step 8 – image 8

Step 9:

With Ctrl+U, I now color the area as follows:

Step 9 – image 9

Step 10:

By double-clicking on the background layer in the Layers panel, I convert this layer to a normal layer and transform it with Ctrl+T and right click> perspective transform so that I move the left handle quite far to the left (to do this, I zoom out very far with Ctrl+-).

Step 10 – image 10

Step 11:

Next, I duplicate the layer with Ctrl+J, go to Menu>Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur, and enter 4.4 as the pixel Radius.

Step 11 – image 11

Step 12:

Now I just need to change the fill method to Negate Multiply and then merge the layer with the one below (Ctrl+E). F9 opens my Actions panel. I will now end the current action.

Step 12 – image 12

Step 13:

Next, I create a new document in 800x800 pixels and execute the action within it.

Step 13 – image 13

Step 14:

Now I insert the result into my first document (either copy everything and then paste it with Ctrl+V, or I can directly move it into the new document using the Move Tool). Then I only need to change the fill method to Screen and the Opacity to 50%.

Step 14 – image 14

Step 15:

I click on the lowest level and then go to Menu> Filter> Render Filter> Lighting Effects and adjust these settings:

Step 15 – image 15

Step 16:

The result will then look like this:

Step 16 – image 16

Step 17:

If I had moved the handle further to the left in step 10, the result would look like this (Tip: If I move the contrast all the way to the right in Brightness/Contrast at the end, the result will look even better):

Step 17 – image 17

Stefan Petri
Trainer About Stefan Petri Together with his brother Matthias, Stefan Petri runs the popular specialist forum PSD-Tutorials.de and the e-learning platform TutKit.com, which focuses on the training and further education of digital professional skills. All courses by Stefan Petri